Business / Notary

The Clerk's office registers business names known as "assumed names" for new businesses in accordance with Illinois law. In addition, Cook County Vital Records also certifies notary public commissions approved by the Illinois Secretary of State.

Visitors can find more information on each topic by selecting the corresponding topic to the left.


Assumed Business Name Registration ($50)

An assumed name is issued to any business entity that uses a name other than the name(s) of the individual(s) who own or operate the business. For example, a business called "John Jones, P.C." (i.e. owner's full name and title) does not have to file an assumed name, but "Jones Wrecking" does.

The Clerk's office also allows the public to search for businesses and owners by name, address or registration number.


Notary Commissions ($5)

Becoming a notary is a multi-step process beginning with an application from the Secretary of State's office and ending with a commission from the Cook County Clerk.

Notary signature cards can be filed in person for a fee of $5 or by mail for $10.