2022 Info for Candidates

Official Calendars

2022 Illinois State Board of Elections Guides

Statement of Economic Interests

Any Statement of Economic Interests form provided by and filed with the Cook County Clerk's office discloses the information required by law and will meet the statutory filing requirement for candidates.

Candidates can print out the Statement of Economic Interests form below and deliver it to the Clerk's downtown office (69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602) or any of the Clerk's suburban courthouse office locations (Rolling Meadows, Skokie, Bridgeview, Maywood and Markham).

Candidate Contact Form

Please complete the Candidate Contact Form and file with your nomination papers or email the form to [email protected]. Do NOT bind with the nomination papers.

Candidate Filing

For the Tuesday, June 28, 2022 Gubernatorial Primary Election the candidate filing period for established party and nonpartisan municipal office candidates is Monday, March 7 – 14.

Withdrawal of Candidacy

To withdraw your candidacy, please complete the Withdrawal of Candidacy form, have it notarized, and file it with the office where you submitted your original nominating petitions. If you filed your petitions with the Cook County Clerk's office, you should deliver or mail your form to the Clerk's downtown office: 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602. Emails and faxes are not accepted.
 

Important Dates for the November 8, 2022 Gubernatorial Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Wednesday, April 13: First day to circulate petitions for independent candidates and new party candidates.

Tuesday, July 5 –Monday, July 11: Candidate filing period for new political parties and independent candidates

Monday, July 18: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the July 5 – July 11 filing period. Objections are filed with the election authority where the nomination papers were originally filed.

Monday, July 25: Last day for appointee by established managing committee to file documents when no candidate was nominated at the Primary election.

Monday, August 1: Last day to file objections to a resolution to fill a vacancy when no candidate was nominated at the Primary election.

Thursday, September 8: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate.

 

Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, August 8: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the appropriate election official or local election official.

Monday, August 15: Last day to file objections to petitions for the submission of questions of public policy. Objections to petitions for local referenda are filed with the same office that has the original petitions.

Monday, August 22: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding or advisory public question to appear on the ballot.

Thursday, September 1: Last day for the circuit court clerk and the local election official to certify any question of public policy to the election authority.

 

Voter Registration, Early Voting & Mail Voting Dates

Wednesday, August 10: First day to apply for a ballot by mail, ballots will not begin to be mailed until after September 29.

Tuesday, October 11: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials.
Wednesday, October 12 – Monday, November 7: Grace period registration and voting period.

Sunday, October 23: Online voter registration closes.

Monday, October 24 – Monday, November 7: Early voting period.

Thursday, November 3: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail.

Friday, November 4: Nursing home voting.

 

Ballot Counting & Canvassing Results Dates

Tuesday, November 22: Deadline for validating and counting provisional ballots and late-arriving mail ballots.

Tuesday, November 29: Last day for County Clerk to canvass election results and proclaim result.
 

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: www.elections.il.gov